Excursion to the Col Dei Rossi

Last week, between 15 – 19 March I went to Italy, attending international conference in Canazei, about 180 km north of Venice. The name of the conference is The 18th Molecular Beam Epitaxy (http://web.nano.cnr.it/eurombe2015/)

Canazei is located in the upper part of the Val di Fassa, and this region is part of the Dolomites, a mountain range located in the northeastern of Italy. This is my first time of my life seeing Alps as it is just standing before my eyes, so huge! According to the wikipedia, The Dolomites form a part of Southern Limestone Alps and extend from the River Adige in the west to the Plave Valley in the east. A huge range of lining mountain in the north of Italy.

Those mountain suppose d to be Ciampac (2100 m)
Those mountain suppose d to be Ciampac (2100 m)

The Dolomites is acknowledged as The Natural World Heritage Sites by UNESCO. Basically this place is heaven for those who can ski, both down hill and cross country. It has almost 260 km range to do ski activity: Ski until you drop 🙂

It has hundred of squared kilometres of walls, towers, pinnacles and valleys. A well known phenomenon, called Enrosadira, takes place at dawn and dusk when the sun light reflects on the walls of the Dolomites. Unfortunately, I was not able to see this phenomenon. The break I had was unfortunately insufficient to find out. It is supposed look like this:

Dolomiti sunset - Enrosadira Tra Le Odle, copyright: https://www.flickr.com/photos/dancingflowers/
Dolomiti sunset – Enrosadira Tra Le Odle, copyright: https://www.flickr.com/photos/dancingflowers/

In winter, the Enrosadira will appear like this

This is the map for the Val di Fassa:

Val di Fassa, source: http://www.skiforum.it/skimaps/skimaps/displayimage.php?pos=-325
Val di Fassa, source: http://www.skiforum.it/skimaps/skimaps/displayimage.php?pos=-325

And here I was, standing on the Col Dei Rossi, after taking some breathtaking cablecar from Canazei. The transportation was almost made me crazy, the wind blew and shaked our cable car! Who is not afraid of those disturbance?? Anyway, I relieved I could made to the one of the top peak in here.

On top of Col dei Rossi, Canazei (2382 m)
On top of Col Dei Rossi, Canazei (2382 m)

The first two days were cloudy, but the last two days were awesome. Unfortunately, I did not have good schedule on the last two days. I wish I could climbed the mountain on that days 😦

Well, eventhough I was not able to see Enrosadira, I was able to see the sun rays were splitted by the mountain behind hotel I stayed and I guess it was Col Dei Rossi.

Sunrays were splitted!
Sunrays were splitted!

That was wonderful 4-day stay in Canazei. The last photo was taken before I left Canazei to Venice, where my flight back to Trondheim departed. I enjoyed and surprised with the great hospitality I received there. I met some of the people who were hardly speaking English, but they tried their best, and the Italian (or Ladin?) language was used eventhough I did not understand what they wanted to say. I wonder why they continue talking in Italian to me? Maybe, they wanted to make me welcomed in Canazei.

Grazie!

Leave a Reply

