Little note about David

Young David as a shepherd

(Image source: http://www.papermatch.com/Graphics/bible-david1.JPG)

1 Samuel 17:33-37

33And Saul said to David, Thou art not able to go against this Philistine to fight with him: for thou [art but] a youth, and he a man of war from his youth.

34 And David said unto Saul, Thy servant kept his father’s sheep, and there came a lion, and a bear, and took a lamb out of the flock:

35 And I went out after him, and smote him, and delivered [it] out of his mouth: and when he arose against me, I caught [him] by his beard, and smote him, and slew him.

36 Thy servant slew both the lion and the bear: and this uncircumcised Philistine shall be as one of them, seeing he hath defied the armies of the living God.

37 David said moreover, The LORD that delivered me out of the paw of the lion, and out of the paw of the bear, he will deliver me out of the hand of this Philistine. And Saul said unto David, Go, and the LORD be with thee.

Source: http://www.kingjamesbibleonline.org/book.php?book=1+Samuel&chapter=17&verse=33

Something special in this verse? He did not said “I have become stronger, so I will deliver myself out of the hand of this Philistine..,”

See the differences?

A discussion in nice evening Sunday, 20 November 2011 at one of my Christian man in Trondheim. It is started with the meaning of each person who came there: I, Erling, Adi, Grace and Axel. Each of us describe the characteristics of our name, from where those names taken from, and their history.

In certain point, Axel brought “Daud vs Goliath” story, a well-known story for the Christians, in which Daud won the battle “out of the box”.

Ok, I know this point. So, what was new for me? That in verse 37. I have read and listened this story several time: In church, home, radio, etc- but i realized this important point in that time.

David was not boast while he spoke to Saul, proposing himself to fight with the giant from Philistine, Goliath. Having pressed or watched down by Saul, he told him his experience as shepherd: fighting lion and bear. Hmm.. What a brave young man! If I were him, I would continue “my” line: “I can beat Goliath!”.

My big mistake.

Instead of saying “I”, Daud said “The Lord… “. I think this is David’s statement of faith, and this line strengthen me from that time, until today.

Too late, but at least I am aware.

And rejoicing for this and always!

 

I can live well

I can breathe well

I can eat well

I am healthy

I have good family taken care in Indonesia

I have wonderful “family” in Norway

I have great friends

It is because of the Lord!

Leave a Reply

